Skip to content

Hey Cap!

September 10, 2016

In Sparta only two groups of people were permitted to have their names inscribed on their tomb:  Spartans who died in battle and women who died in childbirth. Both are warriors.

As anyone who has ever been in labour can attest, it is quite the battle.  Time has no meaning, you are not in control of your own body and you are in pain.  A lot of pain.  And it is hard work.

I have never been in battle.  But I have been in labour.  Just never birthed in the traditional sense.

Last month I had another caesarean.  My first planned section, and it was done in the classical line.  It has been the best experience to date!  I feel AMAZING!  My recovery is going great! I feel so powerful and defiant for the same reason:  I have had my children cut out of my womb. MacDuff style.

Because of my previous sections, my body carries a lot of scar tissue and it becomes a startling concern for the obstetrician performing the surgery.  Seeing as my first section was performed vertically, but the subsequent ones were horizontal, the intersection of the scars is horribly formed.  There isn’t enough vascular support for it to heal well anymore.  So, my very experienced surgeon decided to go into the first scar again.  And avoid the lower area all together.  Even on my uterus.

There is a difference between an emergency section, an unplanned section and a scheduled section.  I can no longer have anything but a scheduled because of the new ‘special’ scar on my uterus, but I’m ok with that.  While I didn’t die in child birth, I am still a warrior.

I have the scars to prove it.

warrior

And he is so worth it.

cap

Welcome to the family, Cap!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2016 7:00 pm

    Wow wow wow! I’m sorry I’m so late to this I’ve been offline for a bit but this is fantastic news and what’s warrior you are. He’s a gorgeous boy! Well done and God’s blessings on you all xxx

Leave a Reply

