Skip to content

Miraculous

December 4, 2014
tags: ,

Afghanistan altered There have been so many times that I have asked God for ‘small mercies’.  You know the ones, a parking spot right in front of the pizza place so that you don’t have to get all the kids out of the van just to pick up the pizza; or that one last thing that you just can’t find when you are packing; or one more diaper that is clean, oh please Lord, let there be a clean, dry diaper somewhere! When we ask these things do we really expectGod to answer these prayers?  Or are they just things we want to make our lives easier?  Could they be both? I have asked for some big things in my life; to get pregnant, for my Love to come home safe, for my son to live.  These are not small miracles.  I have also asked for small things in my life, like the ones I pointed out. Here’s the thing:  if God is in everything, how can there be such things as small miracles?  So often I hear people talk about these little ‘mercies’, but isn’t that just a miracle we can’t seem to wrap our brain around? Each time I flippantly ask God for something He takes it seriously.

“Or what man is there among you who, when his son asks for a loaf, will give him a stone? “Or if he asks for a fish, he will not give him a snake, will he?

I admit that sometimes it feels like my words are falling on deaf ears.  But maybe, just maybe that is my own insecurities. Maybe it is my thought that I am insignificant in the grand scheme of things.  But I am not insignificant to him.  We are far from being insignificant to Him.

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

The one who created the all the stars in heaven and “has measured off the heavens with his fingers” created us purposefully and carefully.  With such deep love and care.  So why should we think that when we ask for these seemingly trifle things that God wouldn’t care? When we get it wrong, God still loves us.  When we acknowledge Christ we bring Him glory.  When we ask for something, God doesn’t do something small.  He does everything big.  Even in a quiet moment, in the hush, in the stable.  Nothing is small to Him. Jesus is sitting at the right hand of God, yet God still dotes over us.

The Lord your God is with you.  He is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.

Jesus died to bring God glory, to fulfill God’s prophesies, and to reconcile what was broken in Genesis.  There is no small part in what God is doing.  Ever.  We are the ones who get distracted; He never does.  Everyday we see so many miracles but we dismiss them because if we recognized every time a miracle happened we probably wouldn’t be able to do anything other than acknowledge His glory.  Our distraction doesn’t change God’s miracles.  Whether you find a bobby pin in the bottom of your purse exactly when you need one, or you watch a horrific car accident and everyone walks away, God is there. I sometimes get scared by the weight of it all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chanell permalink
    December 14, 2014 4:43 pm

    Amen. I ask for small mercies all the time and God has been so good to me.

Leave a Reply

