Skip to content

A Quest for Peace?

November 27, 2014
tags:

On November 13th I went to a local event that was held where a soldier and nun discuss Remembrance Day.  It was awkward to sit there.

After the discussion, which was well done, I spoke to the organizers about how I felt while sitting there.  While expressing my impressions and the reasons to why I felt the way I did I was verbally attacked.  By a pacifist.  I was told that my opinion was wrong.

On Monday I went into a local store where another of the organizers happened to be.  She recognized me and asked me what I thought of the event.  The conversation digressed until she told me I was wrong.  I think she wanted to say that she disagrees with my thinking.  But she didn’t even give me a chance to explain my position.  Just that I was wrong.

When we shut people down, we lose the opportunity to learn from each other.

Both times conversations ended not because the conversation was over.  The door was shut on conversation.

Conversations don’t have to end because you disagree, in fact, they should continue with compassion and understanding.

I don’t believe that people have to agree with me, or even support my Love’s profession, in order for me to feel safe in a conversation. Common courtesy is all that is necessary to facilitate a productive and thought provoking conversation.

I truly valued what was said on both sides of the conversation.  What I found interesting talking to the organizers after is how surprised they were that they didn’t attract non-pacifists to the meeting.

If you are always hostile to people who have differing views then no progress will be made.  On either side.

Now, this goes both ways.  Putting stickers on cars that say “If you don’t stand behind our troops feel free to stand in front of them” closes conversation just as quickly.  This bumper sticker insinuates that the people who would lay down their lives not only for their comrades, but for innocent people, would also shoot the people they desire to protect.  I don’t know one soldier that thinks this way.  Because most soldiers want peace more than we do.  That is why they are willing to sacrifice so much for it.

If given the opportunity to be a part of PeaceQuest I would.  But I would still feel like my words would be censored.  Because I don’t want to be attacked for my view any more than I imagine they do.

The important part is to find the common ground.  We have so much more in common than we have in differences.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    November 28, 2014 9:57 am

    I must say, I feel bad for inviting you to this event. I’m sorry that it was (and continues to be) an awkward, frustrating experience and that you’ve felt attacked because of it.

    • November 28, 2014 2:29 pm

      Rachel, I am so glad that I went. An experience doesn’t need to be good for blessings to come from it.

      Thank you for inviting me!

Leave a Reply

