Skip to content

Rain Jackets from God

October 19, 2014
tags:

 

rain jackets

In October 2012 I took Gift to the Parliament Buildings.  He had been invited to go to question period by a Member of Parliament.  While we were there I went to a second hand store.   At that second hand store I bought a lined rain jacket for Sweetness.  I thought she would love it.  And it was cheap, so how could I refuse?

Well, a few weeks ago I went to a second hand sale on base.  I woke up at 6 am and was there between 6:30 and 7 waiting for the doors to open at 9.  When I woke up I thought I was crazy.  I was tired, and chilled standing outside waiting for a sale.  I wasn’t looking for much really.  Nothing terribly specific.  Maybe some socks for Cupcake, a few pairs of pants for Curly, pyjamas for Sweetness.

After searching through piles and piles of well organized children’s clothes I thought I would take one more walk around. Just to see if there was anything else worth picking up.

Then I saw it.

I saw God’s provision materialized.

I felt it.

There in that room I felt God’s word with my hands and saw it, but not in writing.

Luke 12:22

Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

I saw the exact same rain jacket, but just the right size for Cupcake.  It was like I heard God’s voice say to me:  “Don’t you see? I will always take care of you.  Look!”identical

Look at them.  They are IDENTICAL. (except size, of course.)

I saw for a moment God’s promise not on paper but in real life.  Not in metaphor or symbolism not even hyperbole, but a tangible, obvious  and literal.  God’s promise in the midst of a huge indoor parade square filled with used clothing.

It only became more incredible when I got them home and saw this:

tags

Yes, they are identical.  But they aren’t even made by the same company.

God orchastrated two different companies to make two seemingly identical jackets.  I bought them two years apart in two different cities.  God’s promise being fulfilled in unexpected ways.

He provides.  But never how we expect Him to.

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

