Skip to content

Wives of Faith

April 20, 2013

Wives of faith is having a link up and I am going to join in today.  This weeks question is:

How has your life changed as a military wife?

 Again, such a huge question!
When my Love first decided to join, we had been married for over 3 years and had a baby AND he was graduating university.  Why?!  I asked him, did he want to do that!?  I couldn’t stand the thought of him being away from us for even the training period.  But the more we talked about it, the more I saw that God really did want him in this position.  Even if it scared me.
But, once he joined our life transformed.  We went from having no income (remember students and a baby, so i was at home), to having a living wage!  I could buy both meat and fresh fruit in the SAME MONTH!!!  It was so exciting.  I was able to take his pay statement and get us a mortgage.  So now we could eat, own a house and i could still stay at home!
Having this military life brought us from a place of comfort to discomfort as well.
We have been posted away from family and friends.  But when it has happened i have been so amazed by a peace that could only come from God.
I have met incredible people.  I have been able to be a part of people’s lives in ways i never would have imagined.  I have had people come into my life and inspire me deeply.  And because of that i have prayed thanking God for these people and hoping that i touched their lives in return.
Military life has been scary too, though.
God changed my heart about my Love joining the military.  I argued with my Love, pointing out that he would not be the one to explain to his children why they dont have a father, and I didnt have the heart to do so.  That it was unfair to ask me to tell them.  Unfair to leave me.  I prayed desperately for God to change my Love’s heart.  I was pouring my heart out to HIm saying that i was not ok with my Love going to war and dying.  God reminded me that my Love was HIS child, and that He would guide my Love’s life.  Humbled, i relented.  In turn, God has enriched my life beyond imagination.
I still struggle with holding worldly things to close to my heart.  And God has pruned me back a lot lately.
How has my life changed being a military wife?
I guess when all is said and done, I am still changing and growing and God is using my life as a military wife to transform me into the person He created.  I’m getting closer and closer to the true me.
(also, please forgive me, i am having difficulties adding pictures that are proper sizes….)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

